CCHL division realignment Staff
July 26, 2017

Central Canada Hockey League commissioner Kevin Abrams has confirmed the realignment of the Eastern Ontario-based loop for the 2017-2018 campaign.

STEVE YZERMAN DIVISION: Nepean Raiders, Ottawa Senators, Cumberland Grads, Rockland Nationals, Hawkesbury Hawks, Cornwall Colts.

LARRY ROBINSON DIVISION: Brockville Braves, Smiths Falls Bears, Carleton Place Canadians, Kemptville 73’s, Pembroke Lumber Kings, Kanata Lasers.

All 12 CCHL teams will continue to play an unbalanced, 62-game regular season schedule.

The playoff format remains unchanged with the top eight teams seeded regardless of division standing. All playoff series will be best-of-seven.

What you think about “CCHL division realignment”

  1. Now, the league is a mess now. I remember when the CCHL was 10 teams and everything was more simpler. Now, with 12 teams it makes it more challenging because 8 out of 12 make the playoffs. I remember when the Robinson Division made up the Gloucester Rangers, Cumberland Grads, Hawkesbury Hawks, Ottawa Jr. Senators and Cornwall Colts. The Yzerman Division made up the Nepean Raiders, Kanata Stallions, Pembroke Lumber Kings, Brockville Braves and Smiths Falls Bears in 2003-04.

    The CCHL charges player fees now, even the teams out of the Ottawa-area. Maybe the league should down-size, eliminating Kanata for starters because they’ll never have a winning season and continue to deal with low attendance figures.

  2. Best Jr A league in Ontario. The city teams in one division and the valley teams in another. Makes perfect sense.
    I played in this league in the early 80’s and it’s still my favorite.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *