High school award winners

Randy Russon
February 26, 2020

Sault Ste. Marie’s high school hockey league, via retiring convenor Remi Gentes, has revealed its list of award winners for the recently completed 2019-2020 season.

Goalie Tyler Greco of the Central Algoma Huskies is the winner of the Matt Howard Memorial Trophy.

Named in honour of the late Matt Howard, a former forward with the erstwhile Sir James Dunn Eagles, the award is probably the most prestigious and sensitive because of the way it tugs at the heart strings.

Matt was just 19 years old and playing for coach Remi Gentes at Sir James Dunn when he was struck and killed by a vehicle when walking home on February 28, 2010.

The award, named in Matt’s memory, annually goes to the local high school hockey player who, like Matt did, has a great passion for the game and equal respect for his coaches, teammates, opponents and referees.

Other award winners from the 2019-2020 high school hockey season are as follows.

League champions: St. Mary’s Knights.

Leading scorer (Bumbacco Sports Trophy): Chuck Webb, St. Mary’s.

Best combined goals against average: Josh Lidstone and Sam Crowell, St. Mary’s.

Least penalized team (John Jagger Memorial Trophy): Korah Colts.

Most valuable defenseman (Sears Trophy): Mack Ableson, Central Algoma.

Most gentlemanly player (Jim King Memorial Trophy): Theo Smith, St. Mary’s and Mark Keenan, Superior Heights Steelhawks.

Rookie of the year (Sault Star Postmedia Trophy): Nathan Keranen, Korah and Sam Lake, St. Mary’s.

Academic and on-ice performance (Soo Source For Sports Trophy): Michael Shaw, Central Algoma.

Art Jarrett Bursary Award: Michael Shaw, Central Algoma.

Most valuable player (Northern Credit Union Trophy): Chuck Webb, St. Mary’s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *