Majors open at the Soo

Randy Russon
September 3, 2018

September is here and so is the official start to hockey season. And as they are slated to begin the 2018-2019 Great North Midget Hockey League campaign at Sault Ste. Marie, the Timmins Majors used a Labour Day weekend tournament for a tuneup.

Timmins took part in the midget division of the second annual Polar Bear Classic that is hosted by the Cochrane Crunch of the Northern Ontario Jr. Hockey League. And the Majors were involved in three close games, including two with the Rouyn-Noranda Citadelle of the Quebec League of Excellence.

The Majors began the Polar Bear Classic with a 2-0 loss to Great North rival Kapuskasing Flyers before skating to a 3-3 tie with Rouyn-Noranda and then losing 3-2 in overtime to the Citadelle.

Timmins head coach Brandon Perry took advantage of the trio of games to finalize his team’s roster and to get ready for the Great North regular season.

“I thought it was a decent weekend for us,” Perry said of the Polar Bear Classic. “I would have preferred some better results but we got better as the weekend went on and really, that’s all you can ask for.”

Timmins has set its 20-player roster ahead of the Great North regular season which, for the Majors begins with road games against the Soo Major Midget Thunderbirds on Friday (8:30 p.m. at GFL Memorial Gardens) and Saturday (12:30 p.m. at John Rhodes Community Centre) of this week.

Following is the Majors 20-man player list, including position, birth year and hometown.


Dylan Dallaire, 2001, Timmins.

Connor Johnson, 2001 Kapuskasing.


Cameron Dutkiewicz, 2001, Timmins.

Gavin Martel, 2002, Iroquois Falls.

Jeremy Jeffries, 2002, Timmins.

Reese Beagan, 2002, Cochrane.

Nicholas Tremblay, 2003, Chapleau.

Mason Berthiaume, 2003, Timmins.

Keaston Blais, 2002, Iroquois Falls.


Carson Cavalieri, 2001, Timmins.

Brennen Martel, 2001, Timmins.

Joel Martin, 2001, Timmins.

Eric Daigle, 2001, Cochrane.

Garrett Gelinas, 2001, Iroquois Falls.

Sebastien Sutherland, 2002, North Bay.

Landon Deforge, 2003, Timmins.

Jesse Dupuis, 2003, Iroquois Falls.

Landon McGrath, 2001, Timmins.

Desmond Brazeau, 2003, Timmins.

Pierre Racicot, 2003, Timmins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *