Timmins takes Polar Bear title

Randy Russon
September 4, 2017

Timmins Majors trimmed Soo Thunderbirds 6-3 in the title tilt of the AAA midget division of the second annual Cochrane Polar Bear Classic.

The two squads are members of the Great North Midget Hockey League and were part of a first-ever, four-team midget division in a Labour Day weekend tournament that was hosted by the Cochrane Crunch of the Northern Ontario Jr. Hockey League.

Cochrane was upended 2-1 by the Kingston Voyageurs of the Ontario Jr. Hockey League in the championship game of the four-team junior division.

In Sunday’s AAA midget final, Riley Brousseau and Riley Robitaille scored a pair of goals apiece to spark Timmins past the Soo minor midgets, who are a first-year team in the Great North loop.

Brennan Martel and Gabby Kioki also tallied for Timmins while Justin Mauro, Michael Chaffay and Cooper Smyl replied for the Soo, which was out-shot 47-20 but kept in the game courtesy the net-minding of goalie Noah Zeppa. Jordan Yaremchuk earned the win between the Timmins twine.

PHOTO: Polar Bear Classic AAA midget champion Timmins Majors.

What you think about “Timmins takes Polar Bear title”

  1. Thanks Randy for the continued support. It was a great weekend that I am sure was enjoyed by everyone that participated. Thanks to Ryan Leonard and the Cochrane Crunch for hosting a 1st class event.

  2. Great Tournament!!!! The Majors look good….nice to see encourgment from the Coach’s as the Kids come off a the ice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *