High school award winners

Randy Russon
February 24, 2019

Among other award winners, Korah Colts goalie Dawson Hunter has been named the most valuable player from the four teams that comprise the high school hockey program in Sault Ste. Marie.

Hunter was among the winners who were announced at the league’s awards presentation on Saturday night at John Rhodes Community Centre in Sault Ste. Marie.

Others who were recognized by the local high school loop were St. Mary’s Knights forward Dale Armstrong as the player best combining hockey and academic ability and Mateo Perri of Korah as the league’s best defenseman.

Meanwhile, Korah forward Ty Zachary and Central Algoma Huskies goalie Tyler Greco shared rookie-of-the-year honours. And a pair of skaters, Michael Shaw of Central Algoma and Ethan Johnson of the Superior Heights Steelhawks, were named co-winners of the most gentlemanly player award.

PHOTO: Soo high school award winners, Mateo Perri, Ty Zachary and Tyler Greco.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *