Team Great North is chosen

November 29, 2019

Twenty players, including two goalies, six defensemen and 12 forwards will make up Team Great North at the upcoming CCM Midget AAA Hockey Challenge. The event will be hosted by the Quebec Midget AAA Hockey League and staged in Saguenay from December 11 to 15.

The roster, made up exclusively of players and personnel from the Great North Midget Hockey League is as follows.

Owen Wray, goalie, North Bay Trappers.

Jake Marois, goalie, Sudbury Nickel Capital Wolves.

Alex Gendron, defense, Kapuskasing Flyers.

Chris Innes, defense, Sudbury Nickel Capital Wolves.

Eric Lafontaine, defense, North Bay Trappers.

Alex Little, defense, North Bay Trappers.

Gavin Martel, defense, Timmins Majors.

Ryan Maynard, defense, Kapuskasing Flyers.

Justin Alary, forward, Kapuskasing Flyers.

Brendan Aubertin, forward, Kapuskasing Flyers.

Jackson Buffam, forward, New Liskeard Cubs.

Michael Chaffay, forward, Soo Jr. Greyhounds.

Landon Deforge, forward, Timmins Majors.

Ethan Esposito, forward, Soo Jr. Greyhounds.

Nathan Lalonde, forward, North Bay Trappers.

Cameron Lemcke, forward, Sudbury Nickel Capital Wolves.

Devin Mauro, forward, Soo Jr. Greyhounds.

Will Rivet, forward, North Bay Trappers.

Skyler St. Pierre, forward, Sudbury Nickel Capital Wolves.

Ty Zachary, forward, Soo Jr. Greyhounds. (pictured above.)

Shawn Folz, director of operations, Soo Jr. Greyhounds.

Jamie Henderson, coach, Soo Jr. Greyhounds.

Brandon Perry, coach, Timmins Majors.

Sheldon Reasbeck, coach, Kapuskasing Flyers.

Team Great North will be one of 24 entries that will participate in the 14th edition of the Quebec-based, CCM Midget AAA Hockey Challenge.

According to Albert Corradini, who is the commissioner of the Great North loop, the challenge event normally attracts more than 250 scouts, general managers, and coaches from major junior, junior A, Canadian university, and American college teams and programs.

Corradini added that Team Great North “is fortunate” to be included in this year’s event, which features 23 other teams from the Quebec Midget AAA Hockey League, Atlantic midget AAA leagues and other all-star squads made up of the top draft-eligible prospects for the Quebec Major Jr. Hockey League.

Team Great North will hold camp prior to the challenge tournament. It will be held in Sudbury on December 9 and 10.

Jackson Buffam of the New Liskeard Cubs.
Landon Deforge of the Timmins Majors.

What you think about “Team Great North is chosen”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *